Capital adventures

By marchmont

Frosty day

It was a beautiful winter's day today, frosty and cold but blue skies and sun all day till the moon rose before sunset.

After doing the laundry, some tidying and more importantly ordering Cold Town beer to be delivered as a 70th birthday present (Monday but it will need to arrive before the holidays) I wrapped up warm and headed out. First to buy a card (see above) and then along Braid Hills Road.

I can't remember the last time I've walked along there, before September I think. The views as ever were glorious but there was a ribbon of cloud along the river. The tops of the Lomond Hills and the Garleton Hills were just peaking out through it.

I came back by the stables and the park. The riding class was out and there were plenty of horses wrapped up warm in the fields. It was lovely to be out in the sun but my left foot/ankle was unhappy as was my right thigh. I genuinely think it is lack of practice.

Came home to Scotch broth then made bread (not sure it turned out ok), marzipanned the Christmas cake and had a go at fixing one of my light bricks, failed. I did a Wilko order for bird feed and more solar lights before spending much more time than it warranted sending e-cards.

Eventually moved to the front to sit beside the tree for my dinner and watched a bit of the newer 'Whisky Galore' before I succumbed to tiredness. Didn't realise it was filmed in Portsoy.

It's been a braw day and the car is still white.

This time last year the cherry was covered in blossom. Today there are barely a handful of flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.