Impoftheyard's photos

By impoftheyard

Moomins....

This blip is for the other Moomin fans out there. I have noticed a couple among our Finnish blippers. These books of the original comic strip have started to be published in English only in the last few years.

Tove Janson, the author, also wrote other books which are much less well know in the UK and some, which were out of print for years have recently been published in English. The Summer Book is a favourite of mine. I love her writing for children because it combines a kind of realism and a sweetness. The summer book deals with the relationship of a child and her grandmother on a small Finnish island. It is a beautiful and uplifting book which also has sadness, dealing with death and old age.

Why do I love the Moomins? They are fun and beautifully drawn but also have darker moments. In this image we have my favourite mug too.

I feel a little less unwell today and in reasonable spirits. It was confirmed today that my picture of Glasgow Cathedral was included in the Schmap Glasgow Guide. They chose this one. I was pleased.

It's nearly the weekend blippers. Have a good evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.