Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Distant carols

I realise my age by the fact that after today I feel physically much as I did 25 or so years ago the day I traversed the Aonach Eagach ridge ...so as Polonius would say, brief let me be. (Aye, that'll be the day I hear you say.)
Another chilly, foggy morning saw us going out when it was 1ºC, though the fog lifted somewhat as the day went on. I've loved the little bits of liturgy we've been using this year for the lighting of the Advent wreath - "It's time to go home".

The photo shows the other half of the day - our carol service in the church. I took it as we waited for the off - Himself is just out of sight, playing a lovely piece by Liszt, the lights have been dimmed, the service is about to begin. You can see how far the singers are from the congregation - and from each other, actually, as we're carefully spaced as per new recommendations. There are many times when a small choir is a blessing, and this was one of them. The congregation had been asked to self-test before coming, as we in the choir always do when we meet. 

It was lovely. That's it, really - it fulfilled so many needs. We sang well. I loved to hear the congregation singing, masks and all, and to see so many smiling eyes later. The readers were great. And at the end, Himself played his own piece that makes me - and several choir members - want to cheer, a piece based on an Arabic version of Psalm 117. If you're interested, you can hear it on YouTube

Then, madly, I came home and insisted on doing my Italian before I made dinner. Night night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.