WhiskyFoxtrot

By WhiskyFoxtrot

The news you don't hear

Yesterday the top news stories were about a horrible man and a fire that killed six of his children and the further cuts to the welfare state. Some news sources would like the British public to get these stories muddled up by calling Philpotts 'Vile product of Welfare UK'.

We rarely hear in the news about the things that are working well. This morning I sat as a member of the Children's Panel. For those of you who aren't familiar with this uniquely Scottish system, the Children's Panel make decisions about vulnerable children in need of care or who have offended, under the age of 16. Panel members are all (highly-trained) volunteers and I've been privileged to do this work for four years so far.

This morning we had three cases and worked with three unique children and their families alongside a host of professionals such as social workers, youth offending workers, children's rights workers, legal representatives, schools, health visitors and probably a few others I've missed out. We made a series of decisions that were unique to the individual in question with a lot of work and goodwill from the families and professionals alike. I'm bound by confidentiality so can't go into more detail but suffice it to say that this morning I was struck (not for the first time) that today's cases demonstrated a system working well for the young people involved. I left not only feeling hopeful but also certain that good things are coming for those three.

So why this photo? These two mittens were placed on the railing outside the Panel Centre. I thought they looked like the were about to take part in an eightsome reel (yes, the cold meds have affected my thinking), Dr T thought they were waving to each other and another friend thought they were sticking their tongues out at each other. In any case, they looked to me that they were in need of a good home so it seemed apt to be found at a place that tries to provide the means for just that - a good home.

You won't read about this in the newspapers but good work is happening all around us. Just in case you've come to the conclusion that I am some Pollyanna type, I've read and heard about things during my experience with the Panel that would make hair go proverbial, that are truly horrific, frightening and worthy of making one lose faith in humanity. I've also seen acts of courage and selflessness that would rival any hero. The latter far outweighs the former.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.