Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Rive Gauche

I've been holding my breath for what seems like ages, in fact it's not really been that long at all.
I suppose it all seems that much longer when you've been holding your breath.
I've been offered a job on the other side of the river and I have accepted it.
Tomorrow I must tell my lovely boss, but this evening I have already set in place the termination of my tenancy at the pigeon loft and agreed to take on a new tenancy above a pottery shop in about four weeks time.
This image isn't exactly right, but it's my best chance to use it, and truthfully, I am an economic migrant. The definition depends entirely upon which arbitrary borders one chooses to apply.
This music isn't exactly right either, but nothing else sprang immediately to mind – all alternative suggestions welcome!
And now I need to organise the physical relocation of my personal possessions, as well as all the support services we take for granted.
I've told the DMs of course, and they feel just as I do – pleased for my progression but sorry for my distance. I'll be roughly 75 miles upstream.
I've never lived north of the Thames before. Yes my ancestry is from Northumberland, but I've never stood with my toes facing the river and watched it flow from right to left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.