Over My Shoulder

The shortest day. 6 hours and 55 minutes. 

Well, it could be worse. I don't live in Shetland. 

One thing I did today was focus on long summer days. Firstly, that meant when I saw the midnight sun in Reykjavik a few years ago. 

Secondly, for some reason my brain kept coming back to a June day/night in 1994 when I lurched out of a Tallinn nightclub about 1am and it was broad daylight. 

Perhaps my mind's fixation is explained because it was a work meeting. These things are the talk of the steamie at the moment.

I had gone to visit two former trainees (Margus & Aivar), to maintain the relationship and have a sniff around for business opportunities there. We got the business dealt with reasonably quickly and spent the next 8 hours relaxing in various ways. A pub. An open air museum. A pub. Dinner. A pub. Then the nightclub (not my idea). 

Apart from all this self indulgent nostalgia, the day was consumed by the usual midweek chores. 

I guess going to the library counts as leisure rather than a chore, but of course these lines can get blurred as our esteemed PM will be the first to recognise. I got a Blip anyway.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.