Gifts of Grace

By grace

No Great Hurry: 13 Lessons in Life.

The title of a documentary about the great Saul Leiter, who I'd never heard of till last night. It gave me the courage and motivation to take some street photographs, something I've always shied away from (for a host of reasons I might mention another time).

I took his advice and slowed right down, sat in the sun on the seafront for an hour. The sun helped, first time sitting out has been inviting this year. There are a few more shots from this experiment over in my Blipfolio, including this lady in B&W which I particularly liked.

What I'm most struck by is how the love and charm of a ninety year old man, who has been doing this all his life, oozed right out of the screen and made this not only possible, but irresistible. Magic. It's on iPlayer here if you missed it. Such a joy that I may watch it again. It may have opened a whole new world to me. Thank you Saul Leiter.


In my other place: Innocent in Istanbul


#am swimming #am writing
and, most surprisingly,
#am taking photographs in the street


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.