Gifts of Grace

By grace

Bird On A Wire

There is no shortage of wires outside my kitchen window.  And usually no shortage of birds sitting on them.  But when you want them to do just that?  Pfft ....

With this recapitulation business, as I consider my past, a bow-wave of recollection, emotion and bodily memory rises to meet me.  This morning I was awash with tears, compassion for how young we all were, how innocent, how hopeful.

Leonard Cohen's second album 'Songs From A Room' was the soundtrack to my twentieth year.  Searching it out on You Tube I discovered that, as so often, it's the original album track that unlocks the storehouse of memory, often, as here, more trebly, less bass than we have become accustomed to.

More tears, this time for age and experience in this version recorded ten years later.  I love that man, what a poet.

This evening, with the whole pool to myself, I swam long and languorous, more balletic than athletic.  Now every cell is singing.  I am so very glad to be alive, so very glad to live in this age of technology, with all its complications.  We are blessed, all so very blessed to have been born.

Meant to add this invitation that arrived from a friend who likes to suggest things for others to do: 'Today find some aspect of your everyday life to enjoy, which you have not previously enjoyed in this particular way.'  My swim fit the bill, for once I complied, 'though I didn't get the instruction till later :)

In my other place I hesitate.

Here I
#am writing #am crying #am swimming and dancing
all my cells are singing, blessed be, blessed be

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.