Off Broadway

I had barely started to load my photo for today, when everything seemed to freeze. Thinking that it was because my MacBook had informed me --- Does anyone else find it galling that our machines tell us what to do? For some weeks my car has been telling me it needs a service. 

What my computer told me was that the battery was flat and to continue working I need to plug it in. So I located the charger, plugged it in, and found that my photo had been uploaded and none of my ramblings had even been started.

So I'm adding them now.

After leaving the (bossy) car at the service centre, I walked to the unit and spent the day in an office dealing mainly with phone calls and emails. Did meet with my registrar, and that was good. So many of the emails and phone calls embodied conflict of one sort or another, and that is a very tiring way to spend a day.

The artist for this commissioned mural has left his name and the date of completion; at least the year. He writes in his facebook page that he was asked to do a mural with the words off broadway. The company that commissioned the mural owns the building. The street I was standing in, is named Broadway, and is the main street of Newmarket. 

The artist writes that when asked to do this he recalled a photograph he took on the subway in New York. And the scene he captured reminded him of a painting by his father of Punks in Karangahape Road in the 1980s. 

From a scene seen in K Road to a painting; to a scene seen in New York leading to a photograph, developed into a mural; seen and recorded in another photo. This time for Blipfoto.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.