Sketchbook

I had a stressful day yesterday. 
The car had to go in for a service.
It was a dark and stormy afternoon, and the roads were gridlock most of the way there.
I waited a couple of hours in their showroom.
No hot courtesy drinks any more because of Covid.
I read and finished 2 kindle books.
You car is ready, it is right over there on the other side of the car park. 
Usually someone brings it back to the door for me. 
But the lady had gone back in, looked like they were locking up.
I'm soaked and tired by the time I get back to the car.
I turn the engine on. 
But the digital display has changed, my digital speedometer has gone, and a picture of my car is in its place. What the use is that?
The analogue speedometer is too far to the right for me to see as I drive, and the steering wheel blocks my sight of it.
I was not into adjusting steering wheels at that time of day because panic had set in a wee bit by this time.
So it was diving into the rabbit hole of of digital menus.
Five or ten minutes later I had the digital speedometer back. But not the two displays I normally have either side of it.
I set off.
It's heavy going home traffic on a horrendous rainy dark and stormy evening.
What's wrong now?
My windscreen wipers are broken. They are behaving erratically. Suddenly going fast, suddenly going slow, and stopping totally when I drive under a bridge.
I feel physically sick.
It wasn't possible to turn round and go back, because of the roads/heavy traffic/poor visibility etc.
But when the wipers stopped under the bridge, realisation dawned that the mechanics had 'upgraded' (?) the digital stuff in the car (because other stuff had changed too). And no one told me.
Previous to this service at the garage, the windscreen wipers had 3 settings on the stick, bottom was intermittent, middle was constant, top was going like the clappers. 
As they are set now, the windscreen wipers decide the speed they want to do at any given moment. And the rain was so variable, causing the windscreen wipers to have an absolute field day in their whole repertoire. 

I felt very ill when I got home with not knowing what the windscreen wipers were going to do at any given moment.

I went to bed and went to sleep.

I can't drive back to the garage today because I have a 3rd Covid jab (or else I would have been there first thing this morning.

And there won't be mechanics doing stuff Xmas Eve.

My car is a Ford Ecosport. Does anyone have any ideas how to disable this automatic windscreen wiper idiocracy? (How do you spell that word?). I really would appreciate any pointers where to look online, even an instructional video. TIA.

I am assuming whatever the mechanics did to the digital stuff of the car, they must have enabled/activated something that was there before, but not enabled/activated.

I have to shower etc now and get my ID ready to prove I am me for the jab.

I need to chill out and meditate before I go for the jab...

Creative today...a swan on the New Year Card. I practiced the beak, it was perfect. I do it on the card, it is too sharp. A failed swan...might end up in the bin...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.