Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Gifts for Strangers

In this Christmas season where many people spend lots of money buying gifts and luxurious foodstuffs, there are also many who cannot do this.

I had a lovely Christmas parcel from Alison666, who sent me two little packages made by a friend with a crocheted wreath, a candy cane and a heart-warming message!  I thought I would like to do something similar.

So I bought some pre-wrapped chocolates, wrapped two of them together in some cling film, attached them with ribbons, then I added a crocheted snowflake or star, put everything into a cellophane bag with the message: 
'A celui qui trouve ce paquet
c'est pour toi!
Joyeux Noël!'
meaning: 
'To the person who finds this packet, it's for you! Happy Christmas!'

I made eleven packages and then went out into my neighbourhood dropping them discreetly off in various areas:
 the post office, the pharmacy, the florist's, potted plants, the coffee section, at the entrance to a restaurant, etc. I tried to match the colour of the crochet with the surroundings.  It was really fun and I really hope that people will actually pick them up and take them home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.