Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

HTC

Today has been very busy and non-stop! At the start of the week, I was informed that today was the last day for putting on any invoices on the system, so I stayed close to the laptop to make sure I coded everything placed in my queue. I didn't quite put 2 and 2 together to realise it is also the last time vendors get paid this year. There's a long story here, but the short version is that the company who pay me didn't get paid, so I sprang into action to sort things out not just for myself but also for the other temp workers who were going to find themselves short on cash at Christmas time!

In the morning G, C & I ran some errands in Karama. I came home, and they went on to the hairdressers, both coming back with haircuts! I had to race out to buy presents for Miriam and her mum and then drive to the other side of town to deliver them. They are flying home tonight. It's been a very hectic trip for them, so it was amazing that we were able to spend a day with them last week.

Geraldine (who had been out helping a friend deliver hampers) and I arrived home at the same time. We went straight out to have dinner with Margaret and Jeff at Pizza Hut. We ordered the one-metre long Super Limo pizza, which always makes us laugh! Some of it came home with us. We went straight to the meeting from there, battling peak hour traffic. And if that wasn't enough, when we finished, we popped over to the Northside of the Creek to pick up an EXPO2020 VIP parking ticket from a friend. I thought it was a one-time use ticket, but it turned out to be a sticker for the entire season. AMAZING! We were home before 10, but I was exhausted after all that running around and sorting out a special payment run for the temp workers!

My picture is of the Christmas tree/light at Holy Trinity Compound.

PS. And it was 221-221! Actually, that works better written the American way - 12-22-21 :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.