Christmas Eve

Christmas Eve is a day I like to take gently and quietly. Even if it wasn't the anniversary of Mum's passing today, I'd still take it quietly.

I took some time to reflect and remember Mum, with gratitude and love, and to honour her memory. It's a bit different each year, depending on where I am and what I'm doing.

Today I had coffee and shortbread in my garden by the wild flowers, aromatics, and succulents. Mum would love my garden.

Jasper joined me and after a head scratch and and tummy rub (his not mine), he proceeded to tell me a long and loud story.

Earlier in the week he'd helped himself to a present from under the tree. I'd put parcel with the torn paper on top of the fridge. He knew that.

On a hunch I went inside and reached to top of the fridge. Jasper watched me and his vocals increased.

I'll never know if that's what he was on about. But he appreciated my help to remove the remaining wrapping paper from his wand with the birdie feathers on the end. I dutifully waved the the wand, thus engaging the special feather arrangement.

Cat heaven and I smiled. It brought me to a happy place.

Mum would have ideas about my garden and would always respect my style and inclinations. She was easy to be with. I spent a bit of time in my garden today tidying and Mum was with me. Dad was with me as I inspected and watered the tomatoes.

Today's gratitude: For the tears and the laughter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.