Off-road walk

I'm away for a few nights. It's been a big effort to pack and to drive to Peel Forest. I drove in stages with plenty of breaks. The inland route had virtually no traffic. I couldn't have attempted this on busy highways.

I've thought a lot about Mum today and her passing 7 years ago today. It's hard to believe it's been that long. I'd planned to be stopped at the time at the Staveley Store. It was just me on the verandah with my coffee and blueberry muffin (2 of Mum's favouites), and accompanied by birdsong. Perfect.

It's always a mix of tears and memories that make me smile and sometimes laugh. I miss her every day.

After some lengthy brain breaks I've had a bush walk in the rain. One of the owners where I'm staying came with me to make sure I was ok. I used walking poles and my brain figured out everything. I'm just a bit robotic like a Thunderbirds character. It's all progress.

Today's gratitude: For the peace of the bush. After so long I saw it with fresh eyes. It was good for my soul.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.