Theleens

By Theleens

Spires and branches

There is a church on my street and a house next door. They are both in the same style and I can only assume were built at the same time around 1870.

I now recognise a few faces of those living in the house because I see them chat to each other out on the porch steps. I often exchange hello's with one guy who's really friendly. I think Metcalf House provides permanent housing to those coming out of homelessness. The Church is also busy with activity most days and this morning was no different.

As I walked to work, people were coming out of the church doors. I decided to look up at the sky. I hadn't noticed before but the church spire had a solitary gargoyle perched on top. I took a photo of the gargoyle, the spire and the tree branches, but I have to say, I liked the focus being on the twig-like branches with the spire being in the background.

Two elderly gentlemen were watching what I was doing and said 'hey, you're doing some fancy compositions, well, that's smart!'. I laughed and said I hoped I was being smart but that I guess we'd see :-).


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.