Meeting up

We managed to meet up with Flavia13! 
Took me 40 minutes instead of 20 because of very slow traffic , a 3 mile tail back  behind a 'large load' and 3 extra lots of ( red ) traffic lights due to roadworks. 

The weather forecast was for sun so I took my telephoto lens with anticipation  of good views from the top of Hoad. Of course that meant it was quite misty but  least it wasnt windy. 
The path up the hill was steeper than I remembered and I wished my shoes had a grippier sole but we made it to the top. 

The 'lighthouse ' is actually a100ft high monument to Sir John Barrow who was a naval explorer and Second Secretary to the Admiralty. It was built on the understanding that it could have been used as a lighthouse but it has never been used as that. Apparently,  not long after it was erected in 1850 it was struck by lightning so a lightning conductor was fitted.
It was renovated a few years ago at a cost of 1.2 million and is looking quite pristine. 
For most people living in Furness it is an iconic structure, seen from a distance it is a sign of being 'almost home'

We made our way back down the path without slipping and called in The Base where we had a bite to eat.. more upmarket bistro than basic cafe food.  It was so good to meet up and we re just hoping that lockdown restrictions dont prevent is from meeting up early 2022.

I seem to have quite a few permitted extras left, so I've added some extra photos . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.