SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

92 years or so of sun...

Spent today with my (smallish) family of origin and immediate in-laws: my mum and dad (pictured), two sisters, their husbands, two (out of three) nieces and nephews, my partner and our son.  The one missing nephew lives overseas with his wife in her country of origin with their three children but we did at least get to talk to them - well we could hear them over the noise.  I may have a small family but they are very loud and talk over each other much of the time.

I really don't know how much more time I will have with my mum and dad so I'm making the most of them when I can.  My dad has spent most of his life on the sea and a large part of the last 20 years on the golf course.  He has cheated death a number of times, believed missing at sea a couple of times (including the ill-fated 1979 Fastnet Race), and doctors have chased skin cancer around his body for at least the last 15 years (hence the missing ear that still has enough to hang a hearing aid on!).

We had a few prawns and ham at their place before heading up for a cheap and cheerful cafeteria style two course meal at the retirement village dining room.

Everyone dutifully wore those stupid paper hats that come in the Christmas bon bons (or crackers as some people choose to call them).


A day to give thanks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.