JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 359: Christmas

Greetings to you all, whether or not you celebrate Christmas. Our plans were only ever for a quiet day at home, and even this has not turned out quite as intended, but we have nonetheless enjoyed a peaceful and pleasant day.

J's little animated Christmas card, planned and shot by her and her PA using my mum's lace doilies and my grandma's hankies, turned into a family project, with me helping her finish the editing in time while P wrote music and added some words. You can watch it here - it's only just over a minute long. If you saw her BBC New Creatives animation Unbound, don't expect the same production values: Unbound was a year in the planning and making, with a budget and professional help and oversight, whereas the Christmas card was planned and made in about ten days. We were pleased with it though - it's simple and pretty, and has been emailed to lots of people we know and shared on social media today. (If you missed the posts about Unbound, J's Kandinsky themed animation about her relationship with her wheelchair, you can see it here.)

The extras are snippits from our day: the freshly baked pain au chocolat for breakfast is from a Jus-Rol tube, very quick and easy but highly packaged; I told myself I wasn't going to buy any more of them and should learn to make my own, but caved in for today. Perhaps by next year I can learn to make croissants and pains au chocolat like the ones in French bakeries. The tree has the usual assortment of oddments accumulated over the years: the little felt stocking was made by J with her after-school childminder, probably nearly a quarter century ago. My personal treat is a collection of dessert themed chocolates: today I tried the Key Lime Pie, which was excellent. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.