Frontier

By Frontier

The Bucket

Mariya Takeuchi - Suteki na Holiday

It’s that special time of year again. The wife and I had work but got our booking for the Christmas Dinner at KFC. Before scoffing (which I did when I first moved here), is that KFC is a big thing here at Christmas, partly due to the lack of Turkey, partly due to excellent marketing, and partly due to a low percentage of Christians in the country. The exposure of Christmas has come from a different background, and is much younger here than in other western countries.

Here’s some background to the Japan/KFC/Christmas phenomenon How KFC Became a Christmas Tradition in Japan
Regardless, it was nice getting the big bucket, it was sold out at the stores and we had to book early (3 weeks) to get it. When walking back home everyone was staring and licking their lips. My wife said, “Protect the Chicken!” I wanted to parade around the station for a while to show off and have more people stare. Hehehehe.

We saw Last Christmas today and it was better than I expected. 5 great things going for it. 5. Henry Goulding (handsome fella), 4. Emma Thompson and her script, 3. Michelle Yeoh (absolute legend), 2. The acting, 1. George Michael. I love George Michael so you can’t go wrong with a soundtrack of wicked tunes. Father Figure was not in it though which is a shame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.