Christmas Chicken

Vaughn Monroe - Let It Snow

…and here we are again. Chicken time. Thanks to my wife, we were able to get an order in for KFC for the Christmas Special. Thank you.

Was really happy on the way home, taking the train and stinking up the full carts, got a lot of looks from everyone to which I’d like to believe was jealousy. 8 pieces of chicken, a serving of doria, a full cheesecake and a commemorative Christmas plate. We got last year’s one, pretty happy about this years. Now, I know what you’re thinking…. Why in the devil’s name would you have fast food rubbish for Christmas? I used to say the same thing when I was living in Australia.

Yes, KFC (or fried chicken) is the equivalent of turkey on Christmas in Japan, with white cake as the dessert. Clearly traditions evolve and morph in different ways over different countries. Japan got spearheaded by the marketing aspect of Christmas thanks to KFC’s first move advantage and has since grown that way. Not a Christian country unbound by historical attachments which now has evolved into annual celebrations with all the typical Christmas sales and decorations. Makes you think really hard about our own stalwart beliefs of what “is right”. Nobody cares on the other side of the world.

Anyway, back to my little corner, Christmas Eve we had pizza and watched Die Hard 1 (rather popular this year for it), so of course, tonight, we watched Die Hard 2. Noice. Right or wrong, I don’t care. I’m just with the ones I love and that’s all that matters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.