An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

'Hark the Herald!'

...but perhaps the angels weren't singing round this somewhat abandoned Triumph Herald convertible, on an 'H' plate, however old that makes it!

Being a dreary cold very grey and blowy day, my planned shoot in a friend's garage couldn't have been better timed, though I should have asked for him to put on its non-existent central heating beforehand. About 12 images and 3/4 hour was my limit.

I was initially after one of those romantic dusty old tumbledowns, where the light streams through and mice cheerily play in front of you. I had been at the doorway to this garage a few times before when my friend was looking for stuff but I found it impossible to pre guess or picture it again, for my purposes - and with a tripod.

Naturally, I moved a few bits and bobs but still wanted that interestingly nostalgic and tatty abandoned look, so left what I could where it was. This was no museum, though at times, was more organised and ordered than I really would have liked. The lens was Nikkor 10-24mm, all at its widest.

This was one of my last efforts and the tripod is hoisted up fairly high looking down at about 45 degrees. There's amazing depth of field for f16, from the bonnet - that opens at the hinge at the front of the car, upwards - only a few inches and is on the left through to the engine and to the back of the garage. I only opened gently the already ajar passenger door for shots, I didn't touch the car at all otherwise.

I shone an ordinary household torch (mine, that I'd taken) through the time exposure on the dark crevices of the engine bay. This was more evident in the colour original, which was actually surprisingly, well, colourful!

Counteract that part with the much brighter windscreen and interior - a fluorescent tube that you can see reflected - shone down directly and on 'L' LARGE you can spot a pair of sunglasses on the dashboard as well as some lovely grimy and greasy details.

This shot was chosen as it was a technical challenge as well as one exposure and photoshop wise. Full width shots of the car were distorted through the wide lens being so close and with clutter. I nearly chose a head-on shot, which I edited before this, taken with the camera propped up on a toolbox. It had character alright but less technique and probably less good as a photograph. This shot also got round the problem of having the number plate in the shot; my friend was wary of the car or him being identifiable on the www. Pixellating it would have looked just wrong.

My friend does (occasionally) follow my Blips though he is no photographer and is, shall we say, in the upper echelons of the medical profession. So he was fully aware and supportive of one of his being a Blip. And he gets some shots before - and if! - it ever gets restored.

I know that many a blipper likes old cars and all that and hopefully they can see bits and details (such as the chord holding in the battery!), as if the were standing over the car themselves.

Finally, this morning actually got the meds from the "emergency" prescription, how many weeks ago now? They take their time to mush the brain but hopefully I'll be less angry and nicer. Thanks to all for bearing with me!

I also sorted out the broadband - won't be cut off after all. But the logic of Virgin where you cannot downgrade or leave them until the entire amount owing is paid (whilst debt is obviously increasing) is beyond logic and as I said, more than once "madder than me". Which is truly saying something!

Thanks to all who just about managed to hoist my low flying mono plane Blip into the spotlight yesterday. It's good to be creative - for as long as one can and despite all the odds against.

Don't forget the LARGE viewing.

Also, Morris Minor in the rain Blip for those who like old cars...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.