Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Boxed

Boxing Day for me has been more like an unboxing day. Didn't really have the time yesterday to open all my presents - a long lie-in, a day spent in Edinburgh with friends and a late return home saw to that - but poured myself a coffee when I got home from church this morning and then set to work on the various bags and parcels that were sitting waiting to be opened.

A mighty fine selection of gifts, quite a few of which were of the chocolate variety and not a few items bearing images of penguins. Some people know me well! Feeling very grateful and trying hard not to scoff all the chocolates and biscuits in one go.

My friends with whom I had dinner yesterday and I stopped exchanging Christmas gifts several years ago and instead do a 'Secret Santa'. There were some inspired and personalised gifts among those being opened and I was very taken with the one I received (pictured) which also included a pair of penguin-themed socks (which I didn't photograph).

Lunch at my cousins' this afternoon and now a lazy evening ahead, during which I might just relieve one or two of my bottle-shaped gifts of their contents. No more driving planned for a day or two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.