Rain(er) Maria Rilke-ing

Strava Day 210/75 Hard Off Phase Day 28. Outdoor exercise and two liters done. While my Coach requires weight updates every Sunday, My Fitness Pal notifies me every Monday. Am at 108.2 lbs this morning, it is a little below my goal weight. Told my Coach previously that this month, am not aiming for weight or fat loss and that I just wanted to stay consistent with better habits. Noteworthy is how I have transcended the emotion attached to the normal scale fluctuations. If it went up, it is fine. If it went down, it is fine. I have both Jordan Syatt's and The Bodybuilding Dietitian's podcast to thank for viewing daily weigh ins as just data. Yesterday, Mama wanted to have carrot cake and Papa was not in the mood to bake so we got one from the store. I had a slice but weighed it first just to have a general idea as to what 50 grams of cake looks like.
***
Ate M has not reported for two weeks now. Mama has accepted that she has probably no plans of returning. Papa and B cooks alternately while I usually wash dishes. T washes his own plate now and Ma sometimes does it too. Told T it is actually reminiscent of that Big Bang Theory episode where Raj was saying that dishwashing is such a good mindfulness activity. Really grateful though for this opportunity because we get to talk to each other more now. Another thing I remember when washing dishes is the half-meant joke I told Julie, my former Culinary School classmate: Told her I have no ambition to have the title "Chef" and that all I want is to possibly be a dishwasher in Amsterdam and take street photos during off days.
***
T has been writing his daily to do lists now. It is often funny. Yesterday, he scheduled two sessions on the treadmill and today he wrote "comfort yourself" at number 10.
***
Featured photo is a spot I've previously blipped. It's the corner pandesal bakery at the end of our street. Smelling freshly baked bread sure does wonders while it is pouring and cold. Title is in reference to my favourite poet, Rainer Maria Rilke who wrote in his "Letters to A Young Poet": Do not assume that he who seeks to comfort you now, lives untroubled among the simple and quiet words that sometimes do you good. His life may also have much sadness and difficulty, that remains far beyond yours. Were it otherwise, he would have never been able to find these words.
***
Here's to you finding something to smile about today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.