Advent blanket

I finished the advent blanket and am still not loving it.  I enjoyed doing the surprise rows each day but am just not a fan of the final thing.  I was dubious about it at the start but thought I might grow to love it after putting all the work in - but maybe I should have stuck with my gut instinct! 

I think it is a mix of the size (probably best as a cot or pram blanket and I have no use for that anymore) the mix of colours (just a few too many) and the mosaic bits (they were mainly overlay and I prefer the inset version). 

I am not  sure what to do. I could unravel it all and use the yarn for something else, hope that someone who visits takes a liking to it so I can gift it away or I could just pop it in a charity bag and hope someone gets some use out of it that way.

I did have enough yarn left to make up some more mandalas which I use to decorate gifts so at least I will enjoy those.

Ian and I went out for a walk after feeling cooped up yesterday as we couldn’t face getting soaked in the awful weather. We also watched some footie on the TV.  Exeter’s match was postponed as their opponents had COVID problems.  I am not sure we would have gone anyway whilst the transmission numbers are so high at the moment.

We enjoyed a lovely cold meats and salad lunch with turkey and gammon and celebrated Mum’s birthday - 84 today..

Leo was busy plotting what to spend his Christmas money on.  He was suggesting a jaunt to Exeter on Monday for some retail therapy so we will see if he still has the urge now that the weather looks like it will deliver day long rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.