Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Coming home

I once read that, 'the whole goal of travel is to one day set foot in your own country as a stranger'. I've thought about that phrase a lot and I see its truth arriving home after traveling over these past months, these past years....

This is my first photo entry. I snapped this shot down the gravel road I grew up in rural Virginia. Arriving late last night after almost 11 hours driving from the Great Lakes of Michigan, through the flat fields of the midwest rising up to the green hills of Appalachia, descending down into the Virginia piedmont. Instead of thinking of it as coming 'home' though, I'm trying to think of coming back as 'discovering' home for the first time. Discovering America....yeah, the adventure continues.

Many of our neighbors keep horses. I couldn't help snapping a shot of these two grazing in the late afternoon light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.