Between the Years

The first day of my holidays started early: I had an appointment for my booster at 8 am at the vaccination center in Kaiserslautern. Was there 7:20, a fast moving queue at the entrance, me number 38. Everything went so smooth, no waiting time at all (except the obligatory 15 minutes afterwards). Was home before 9 for a second extended breakfast. In the very last minute I had decided to take the train instead the car there (the vaccination center is right next to IKEA and has the small train station "Vogelweh" right next to it). Perfect timing to catch a train going home and my own personal challenge won again (take public transportation as much as possible).

Around 11 am the sun(!!!) shone nicely into the livingroom and at noon I was in the Bruch for a walk. Imagine my surprise - as soon as I left the village there was a nice layer of mist covering everything - just as I like it. It hadn't been there at 7 and not at 9 am - the sun must have been the reason.

Main photo is the path I took (obviously), extra 1 is the view to the left from the very same spot and extra 2 the view to the right: Water Buffalos in the Mist (thank you, Diane Fossey).

Almost everybody I know was feeling unwell after receiving the booster. I'm just fine (knock on wood!), it's more the opposite: I'm feeling full of energy after this boring weekend at home. My arm feels like someone stuck a needle in it, but that's it. Would be nice if it stayed that way.

*Between the years (Zwischen den Jahren): A common phrase we use here for the time between Christmas and New Year's Day.

Sorry for talking so much (but if you got this far - thanks for reading).

18:25; 7°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.