The hinterland

A touch of drizzle in the air when we set off this morning for a walk. After a discussion we decided to go back to the horsey country above the town, reached easily from our house by walking to the end of the road, up what was once a private drive but which is now a public road and through a pointed gateway along a path which is known for some reason as The Chicken Run!

This brings us to a gate through which we access the fields which house the horsey country, or the hinterland as I think of it. It's a rather strange place with scattered settlements of old van bodies and caravans which are having a second life as hay stores, chicken sheds or horse shelters. It's neither town or country and is ornamented with piles of junk. New houses are gradually being built, and walking through this area takes us to tarmac roads which lead us on a circuit and back to The Chicken Run! Rain began lightly and we sheltered under a hedge for a while - I pushed my way through and took shelter in a large box of some kind which held mostly hay! I suspect that you have to own horses to live here!

Back home and after lunch we played a first game of one of my Christmas presents, "221b Baker Street, the Sherlock Holmes Master Detective Game"!  I can readily understand how Sherlock spent so much time with his his eyes shut, thinking! There are 75 cases to be solved! My kind of game as I'm a big SH fan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.