stuartjross

By stuartjross

The New Walk

Except I cycled to it.
Mrs SJR and I took the dogs to the west end of Loch Laggan for their morning walk. (Extra) The reservoir is still very high though lower than of late so a wee bit of beach was showing again. Like yesterday it was pretty chilly in the easterly wind.
In the afternoon I cycled back up the A86 to the New Walk, punching straight in to that same easterly wind;. Uphill and a headwind, great. I saw a friend's blue van at the gated forest entrance and thought I might bump into him further up the trail. As it turned out, I didn't, as there are several side tracks he could have taken. I went as far as the wee bridge a bit before the road end because I was concerned about failing light. (Other extra) . Studying the map I think this is only 4 (pathless) km from the Bohenie track we often walk on from the village. I may have a wee explore of this in the coming days to see if it is a viable circular route or if it is just a tramp in bog land as suggested by the map.
When I stopped and turned here the wind was bitterly cold and the initial steep re-ascent was welcome in order to build up some body heat. The main blip was next stopping point to make sure the lights were on and working. All downhill I was back at the road end in a couple of bone jarring minutes. I's wee blue van was away. When I turned on to the smooth A86 bitmac I had the wind in my back and it was all generally downhill. Unusually for me, I was comfortably pulling the highest gear available and the pedals were spinning pretty quickly. It felt fast and I was easily home before dark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.