Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Pruning Trees

One of my friends said yesterday that he had his blip for the day sorted and then something else took over - I was a bit like that today. I had my VW Beetle, bright pink, snapped and earmarked for today's blip and then I walked down into the town centre and saw the Council workmen busy pruning the trees.

I was amazed at how agile the guy was whilst he was pruning this tree and all done with a chain saw hanging from his belt!! He is far braver than I - and so I stopped to talk to the workmen - well by now, you all know me!

The man in charge, who was rather shy and didn't want his photograph taken, said that it was easier than it looked and that the guy in the tree had been doing it for 18 years, so he knew what he was doing - but all the same, it looked pretty dangerous to me - doing the splits on the ground is one thing - but halfway up a tree with no safety net is quite another!

He obviously had great confidence in his tools and his safety harness, which made me think of the "tools" I use in my daily life - my Bible, my notebook for journalling, my quiet times and my friends, who are always there for me. So what about MY safety harness - well that would have to be God - the one who made me, protects me and who is my safety net, as long as I trust Him.

This reminded me of the verse in which Jesus says:

'I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener.
He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit,
while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes
so that it will be even more fruitful.'
John 15 : 1-2
New International Version


I still haven't pruned my roses yet, but I know that pruning is essential to keep the bushes in good condition, and done at the right time, ensures they remain healthy and grow in an attractive shape. I also know that good pruning produces much better blooms but I have to admit I am not quite so sure about having things pruned in my life. Thankfully, God knows what He wants me to become and although some pruning may not be pleasant, I can be sure that once it is done, I will hopefully bloom where I am planted and produce more fruit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.