Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Home Made Bread

NOTHING beats the smell of home made bread - and my husband is a whizz at making this particular loaf - made with Six Seed flour. All right, he does use a machine (a Panasonic, if anyone is interested and it's brilliant) but it saves me a job!

When I woke this morning, and it was quite late, as I hadn't gone to bed until about 2.00 am, I could smell the wonderful aroma of fresh bread - it was still in the machine, otherwise I might have been tempted to cut off the crust, spread it thickly with butter and eat it there and then for breakfast, but I have just shared half the crust with the baker for my lunch and I can tell you it was delicious!

We buy our flour from Wessex Mill in Wantage and if you like brown bread but find wholemeal a little dense, then this could be the one for you.

Recipe :
500 g Six Seed Flour
2.5 teaspoons dried yeast - we use Doves Farm Quick Yeast
1.5 teaspoons salt
1 tablespoon olive oil
310 ml lukewarm water

Of course, you don't need to use a bread machine, you could do it by hand, as I used to many years ago, but a machine makes it much quicker and in this day and age, most of us are short of time.

Many of you will be familiar with the verse in John 6:35 where Jesus declares I am the bread of life. If anyone comes to me they will never go hungry." - and of course, Communion is one of the ways that we remember Him.

One of my favourite Communion songs is Remembrance, written jointly by Matt Redman and Matt Maher - I like both versions, but for me, Matt Redman's just has the edge Listen to Matt Redman here and if you want to compare versions Listen to Matt Maher here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.