DASHING AWAY WITH A SMOOTHING IRON (and Estelle)

A wet and dismal start to the day, so I decided to do the ironing - well not quite such a chore with a view like this!!

"Dashing Away with a Smoothing Iron" is a traditional English folk song written in the 19th century about a housewife carrying out one part of her linen chores each day of the week. I'm sure a lot of us remember this from our school days. I certainly remember singing it.

This is a great video made at Cogges Farm Museum at Witney, in Oxfordshire, which is not that far from where we live, and gives an insight into how people lived in the 19th century. Things have moved on a little since then!!

We often grumble about "our lot" these days, but when we see how our ancestors used to live, perhaps we should be more grateful.

“I would rather be able to appreciate things I cannot have
than to have things I am not able to appreciate.”
Elbert Hubbard


MORE ENCOURAGING NEWS OF ESTELLE

I was very grateful to receive a message from Estelle's daughter today which said:

"Spoke to dad and mum today..she's doing SO WELL! Everyday she's making so much progress."


Please keep Estelle and her husband and family in your thoughts and prayers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.