Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Warming Up

We had yet another power outage that started around 1:00 am Sunday, and ended shortly before we woke up this morning. During that time we experienced record low temperatures and high winds. The weather reports were warning about the risk of frostbite. We spent most of Sunday huddled around the gas fire.

We dressed like campers at breakfast time, and Hamish was obviously disgusted that his favorite warm floor spot was much cooler than he was used to. The house warmed up gradually and we were able to shed some layers of clothing.

I took H for a walk before it got dark, and he surprised me with his enthusiasm. He usually doesn't like the cold, but he didn't have a walk yesterday, and he was excited by the people sledding in the street. I think he would have liked a sled ride.

The outlook for the rest of the week is bleak -- more of the same! I'm seriously considering getting an emergency standby generator powered by natural gas -- the same source as our heat.

C has some good winter photos in her blip, including one of me doing manly work (with help from the neighbors). Since I turned 80 I get lots of offers of help if they see me doing anything strenuous. We feel blessed to have such good, caring neighbors. 

Extra is humming bird sheltering close to the feeder on the porch. It's a struggle to keep the sugar solution from freezing. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.