South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Sa or si that is the question...

As far as I know, I am not particularly gifted when it comes to learning a language - unlike my husband and son.  I decided to just see how far I can get with learning Japanese - starting with the basic script.  I've started today with Duolingo.  My son knows all of this script and about 500 of the complicated version (kanji).  But I need to start with the 'basic' one.  I think it might be good for my brain to try something that will stretch it.  We shall see!

My language experience so far is French (can understand and speak basic French) German (very basic - learnt some as an adult because my husband is a fluent speaker and I was curious) and a very tiny amount of Italian.  So....now for something completely different!

(My son is now attempting Cantonese - for fun! - and has done quite a lot of Brazilian Portuguese.  But he can't speak any French or German, ha ha!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.