The price of adventures

A couple of days ago I got the x-country skis out, and today I carried them down to the lake, clipped them on, and set off across the snow-covered ice.
Unfortunately there isn't so much snow because we had a brief but intensive thaw. The lakes are the only places with enough snow to ski, and even there it is only just sufficient.  However, it was lovely to be on skis once more, gliding along. I went about 4 kms, not so far but it is the first trip of the season.  
On the way home I pass this corner of the lake where someone has built a picnic spot with a fire basket in place. I'd planned for this and had some kindling in my rucksack so I lit a fire, just for fun really. I sat there for about half-an-hour, watching nothing much happen, and when the fire had burned down I continued my homeward journey.
On that last stretch I let my ski get too far in front of me and I fell over backwards. Normally this is fairly uneventful. Falling over is part of skiing for me and snow is soft stuff to fall onto. But as I said earlier there isn't much snow and I had the misfortune to land with my back ribs across a small ridge in the ice. It took my breath away, and rude words escaped my lips. Once I’d caught my breath I climbed to my feet and flexed my shoulder and back, everything seemed to work and I finished off the trip home.  
It's still all working as it should but whenever I sit still for a while it stiffens up and then as I move it hurts for a few minutes until it loosens off again.  I may be reminded of this small adventure whenever I move for the next few days. However, it really was a lovely ski so the price is worth paying!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.