Combi31

By Combi31

Whitethroat

Today I was working in Bordeaux in the morning and the plan was to head off to The Bassin d'Arcachon for an afternoon's walk with camera on the coast.

However, when I left my client at lunchtime it was absolutely tipping it down with rain so I decided to head off home.

I stopped about halfway between Bordeaux and Toulouse on an autoroute picnic area and this is what I saw in the hedgerow.

it's a whitethroat and this is what Wikipedia has to say about it:
The Common Whitethroat is a common and widespread typical warbler which breeds throughout Europe and across much of temperate western Asia. This small passerine bird is strongly migratory, and winters in tropical Africa, Arabia and Pakistan.

The Latin name is Sylvia Communis and in French Fauvette Grisette.

I did stop off on the river Garonne for an hour or two, but the light was so bad that the photos I took of two green woodpeckers was drabber than a drab day in Drabbington-on-Drab ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.