Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

My Big Fat Scleral Lens

It’s actually pretty tiny but much bigger than the cursed soft contact lens. I thought I’d post this as sort of a “marker” of this event in my life, this restoration of right-eye vision. And also to show my nifty little insertion tool. The blue thing is actually a “plunger” which can supposedly be held in one hand while lowering the eye onto it. A total failure for me. But someone in a Scleral Lens online group I joined suggested using a very small plastic kitchen funnel, cutting off the bottom of the plunger to fit it over or into the narrow end of the funnel. She also uses a battery operated tea light under the funnel although I find I don’t need that. I make sure my right eye can see the opening of the funnel which makes it easy to lower my eye directly onto the lens which is filled with a sterile saline solution. Since I started using this, my Scleral has gone in quickly and easily without losing the liquid. If only I could get the soft lens Into the other eye so easily.

Jax woke us up at the ungodly hour of 4:30 this morning so Hubs took him out for a pee. Back upstairs and we attempted to go back to sleep but Jax started whimpering again, so I told Hubs to go back to bed and I’d take the boy. Back outside where he conducted some more substantial business. And then, of course, he wanted to play. So I just stayed downstairs with him, giving hubs some much needed extra sleep. (And happy to report that his back is feeling better today although still twingy)

Later, I had to pick something up from a friend (a shake mix that has really helped her with the joint pain from cancer drugs). I loaded Jax into the car and after the pickup we headed to the park for a walk. He got to interact with several other dogs and people which is always great. And he took a nice long nap when we got home - nice for me!

Dark chocolate covered almonds today - yum. And local raised chicken for dinner tonight.

Only three more days of this year left. It’s definitely been a year of ups and downs, although even in spite of the pandemic and cancer, I’d say more ups than downs.

Stay safe, people

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.