JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 362: Eating the subject

I was briefly hopeful this morning when yellowish light filtered through from the back of the house, but the half hour of sun was over long before I could get outside, and gave way to more hours of steady rain. For once, though, I had a plan: still life photography always involves more clearing up than I have time for, but macro still life can be positioned on a chair, with a cloth draped over its back to obscure the mess behind, and placed in the lightest bit of the garden room. These are some of Lily O'Brien's Dessert Collection chocolates, and they are delicious (though I only ate one during the photography session!). I'm not sure which is better - the extra (since I still have a few) is better lit and focused (at least in key places), but I prefer the composition of main one, with the white napkin positioned in a more balanced way on the background and the different angle of the half eaten chocolate. 

J had her PA M here today - we are the beneficiaries of the German travel and quarantine regulations, which ended M and her family's plan to spend Christmas with her parents in Germany two days before they were due to travel. Today J and M got out J's Christmas needle felting set, M supporting J hand over hand, and are creating a felt version of our cat Casper. They have made very successful needle felted animals before , in J's care centre, but until now we didn't have any materials to try it at home. Photos will undoubtedly follow. Meanwhile, I did some unglamorous mending with the sewing machine, which was quietly absorbing. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.