JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 363: My December Landscape

I wasn't very hopeful about the quick photos I snapped from the road outside our house in the drizzle this morning, when I popped across to give C the bag of rye flour he had requested from our Sainsbury's delivery. I took a few more indoor shots later, but decided these are not so bad - a fair representation of how our view looks in this dreariest of Christmas weather, with day after day of rain and fog. The meadows are very green, especially the one beside our house which is in the foreground of the extra and has been resting after the sheep were moved out in the autumn. One of the fields across the valley is sown with winter wheat, and has greened very fast since its early autumn ploughing. The hedgerow trees are bare of leaves, but many are thickly grown with deep green ivy,  a great winter refuge for birds and insects. The skyline trees are my favourites, delicate and lacey against even these dull skies. The main photo shows the pattern of diagonals and triangles which run across the hillside; it's not as wide as the extra, but probably more interesting. I like the stripes of the really wide view too, though I cropped some rather flat and uninteresting grass and sky from the bottom and top. I look at this landscape every day, and never tire of it.                               

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.