Totara graveyard

It's a treat to tramp (hike) on a Wednesday. Today I was out on Banks Peninsula with my club. The trip included Mt's Sinclair and Fitzgerald. Parts have old podocarpus/totara stumps, remnants from burning off bush to create farmland.

It rained on amd off. The first part of the day was wet with the first 40 mins in deep bush clambering up wet and slippery rocks. The rain seemed to set in after lunch and the temperature dropped. Surprisingly it cleared again and we finished in the sun.

I think today marks 13 years since I started this blip malarkey. A lot has changed in that time. 13 years ago I couldn't envisage that we'd be living in a global pandemic.

Mine is not a journal for COVID facts and figures. I'm thankful that I live in a country with a high vaccination rate and a low death rate. It's a tough ride as we're confronted with how little of life we actually control.

Anyway, 13 years is a lot of photos and a sizeable chunk of life (and deaths). Thanks to the blip boffins for keeping the site going and for providing this corner of the internet.

Today's gratitude: For 18kms of good times in the hills.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.