Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Blipday Buzzard

A full year of blipping! It’s hard to believe 364 blips have gone by but here I am posting blip 365. 


Visiting The Spinnies in this afternoon’s most welcome sunshine, I hope for a kingfisher, but sadly there isn’t even the faintest flash of blue. Instead, however, there is an ominous flapping of brown-black wings as a buzzard seems to block out the light, descending to land in an adjacent tree, the smaller birds all disappearing in an instant. This is a rare visitor to the reserve, and he sits in majesty overlooking the lake. Not a bad substitute, I decide - and best viewed large! 

Anniversaries are times for retrospection. I’ve loved the daily discipline of blipping, and generally my greatest problems still come in choosing the final image. Somehow, I don’t think I’ll ever become more decisive! Challenges have really helped me broaden my photographic horizons, I’ve tried new techniques and I’ve even changed my camera. 

But of course, Blip is not just about photography, and it’s opportune at this point to thank fellow blippers for all your support over this first year - particularly for those whose encouragement helped so much at the very start. I know I’ve said before that the kindness of blippers came as a surprise, and there have been times this year when that generosity of spirit has been a real lifeline. And of course, thank you to all the team who work behind the scenes, keeping the whole blip-engine working. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.