CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Meeting Celeste on her first birthday

Rather later in the afternoon than I’d hoped I drove up Butterow Hill and on to Rodborough Common in the faint hope that the sun would break through the scudding cloud cover. On the far side of the hilltop common is a similarly steep drop down into the Nailsworth valley, but it also has views out through the gap in the Cotswold Hills formed by the scouring river in former geological time. 

I’d not known the places on the common where cars can park, such as old quarry pits, to be so full. It is always a popular spot for dog walkers because of the wonderful views and open grassland. Cows roam widely there in summertime and horses can be ridden safely. 

Today families abounded, with children kicking balls to their mums and dads, or were flying kites for the first time, rather unsuccessfully. I just watched dogs chasing each other, and people chatting as they walked. I took pictures where I could without much success looking far into the distance across the Severn Vale the River, Severn and the distant Forest of Dean. I spotted Sugarloaf Mountain in South Wales on the western horizon and it can even be seen in the 'Extra'.

Two people separately approached me and said ‘Hello, Ian”. The second time I realised that they thought I was an acquaintance of mine named Ian P. who lives only a few hundred yards away on the edge of Rodborough village. I know him as he is a very keen photographer, part of the local camera club, who I’ve given some help with printing using Lightroom.

I was nearly ready to go home as the light was very poor. As I stood looking towards Wales, a group of walkers stopped on the main footpath in front of me about thirty yards away and gathered together. One of the group, a young man, came towards me holding a small camera and a phone and tentatively asked me if I could take a picture of them all because ’it looks like you know how to use a camera’.

I was very happy to but said it might be easier if I used my camera which was already set up. I walked closer to a distance of about twenty yards and asked them to gather in a tighter group. I took a wide shot against the backdrop and then a tighter one.  Once I’d got the picture, Emily walked up and thanked me. She was delighted and explained that this was a very important day for them. Her daughter, Celeste, was one year old today and both sides of her and her husband Jack’s families had gathered together to see them for the first time in ages, some never having seen Celeste before.

Emily walked this same place everyday until three days before the birth. I then suggested that I take a picture of the three of them, who by now were standing near me. I knew I would like the picture because there was such a lovely feeling around them, and I think my Blip shows that. Celeste has such a delightful presence.

I sent the pictures to Emily and Jack and asked if I could use this picture for my blip today. They were very happy about it as well as with how the pictures turned out recording their very special day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.