Blackbird in the snow

As you might imagine the birds were rather frantically looking for food to give them their necessary energy and to keep warm. Around the suet and sunflower feeders there was frantic activity with many birds – male and female blackcaps and bullfinches, long-tailed tits, goldfinches, blue tits, robins, chaffinches and a even a rather rare wren, which I seldom see in the garden.

The female and male blackbirds can't access the feeders directly so hunt about beneath them to scavenge for bits other birds have dropped. I feel sorry for them but if I try to feed them on the ground all the other waifs and strays bulldoze their way in – the squirrels, crows, magpies and little dunnocks. 

So I was pleased to see this blackbird had found a few suet-pellets I'd put out on the patio table on the off-chance. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.