Pontcysyllte Aqueduct

My daughter-in-law had to work from home today so O,I and I went for a walk. We went to Pontcysyllte Aqueduct, Thomas Telford's pioneering 307m long, 38m high aqueduct over the River Dee.

The wind was blowing fiercely and the handrail gaps small child sized plus a canal the other side resulted in going only part way across then returning.  My main shot is of it's beautiful lines and I think that the winding steps add to it.  

We walked to Ty Mawr country park along the river via woodlands where Pooh sticks were played.  I is only five but had no trouble with the four and a half mile walk (carrying a long stick the whole way).

At the country park she played on the children's playground then we had our picnic before returning.

I had a few extras left so there are more photos of the aqueduct and the walk. There's also one of an unusual item in my car boot.

We drove back to their holiday cottage in Llangollen where I was treated to a lovely home cooked meal before returning home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.