The ice... melts

Mrs. Ottawacker is in a bit of a mess, to be honest. The sledding accident of two days ago hasn't become any less painful, and so this morning I was shipped off to the local Pharmacy to buy drugs. Those who know Mrs. O. know what a radical move this was.

I came back loaded with Advil, Anacin, heating pads - and also over chips and chicken nuggets. These were not for Mrs. Ottawacker, but designed to make the evening simple and straightforward. The oven chips and nuggets appear to have been a bigger hit than the medication.

So, now I am concerned that she has done some internal damage and that a hospital might be the next port of call for an x-ray. We've decided to give it 24 hours more - and, besides, tomorrow is the date for her booster shot - a rendezvous that none of us wants to miss. Fingers crossed. There might have been some easing of the pain, but you can never tell with her. 

Our griping and groaning about it all has taken a bit of a back seat for a couple of reasons. 1). On the day of the accident, a 10-year-old girl died in a sledding accident at Mooney's Bay - about 10 minutes away from where we are. The poor girl hit a metal post at the bottom of the hill. I, we, can't comprehend that... 2). This afternoon, there was a two ambulance/fire engine call out to our neighbours. I'm not entirely sure what to do. I cleared the gaggle of on-looking 8-year-olds from our front garden and messaged to see if I could do anything to help... but what can one do in a situation like that? 

Actually, that's a serious question. I'm from a background where people going through difficult times - and I have to emphasize that I have no idea what actually happened, whether someone died or had a heart attack of fell and hurt a leg - are given space to deal with what is going on. That's my family, though, who are pretty much shite at all relationships. My own take is to be there and show willing - but then to retreat. But that involves the instant step up to the front door when things are bad. In the end, I messaged... but that seems impersonal and unfeeling... just what the frig do you do?

I decided this was a Ricard question... and then came to the big problem: the ice tray had been overfilled and the cube had to sit at the top of the glass till it melted into the drink. It reminded me of the Cointreau adverts of yesteryear.... "The ice melts".

Only it hasn't - and I am worried for my neighbours and have been far too wishy-washy about it all. That, I have to say, is typical.

There were better parts to the day. I had a great phone call with my closest friend and was interrupted by a wolf running loose in my back garden. The wolf turned out to be a husky that had escaped from its leash - but was friendly and gentle. The owner saw me holding it through gardens a couple of streets away and came running to rescue it/me. Not all is bad. As Mrs. Ottawacker said, "it's not our time, yet."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.