Friendliness, filth & poetry

Not the loveliest of days today, cloudy and gloomy. Daughter One had left this morning, so Mrs M, Daughter Two and I decided to walk downtown to do a bit of shopping. I was trying to find a lightweight rain jacket in the sales. Having tried a number of shops without success I had a go in McCaig's Warehouse and found one that fitted, but in the wrong colour. The sales assistant was so helpful and friendly that I felt like nominating her for Sales Assistant of the Year! Her name began with A, I think. It might have been Amnesia, but I've forgotten.

From a very positive to a very negative. Station Square was disgustingly rubbish-strewn. We met some friends from out of town and the first thing they said was 'Oban is such a filthy mess'! It was true - cans, bottles and litter all over the pavement, milk shakes or similar thrown over the shop windows, bus shelter floors covered with chewing gum, sides scratched and sprayed on, litter bin overflowing, signs covered with stickers. I felt thoroughly ashamed, especially when a crocodile of tourists walked by.  Does nobody care?

OK, rant over. We popped onto W.H.Smiths and although I had intended only browsing I came out with Pam Ayres' latest book of poetry, 'On Animals' - half price! This is my fifth book of hers - I love her everyday humour. I hope she won't mind my quoting one of them '- 

The Curse of the Country Walk

What pillock hung the poo bag from the briar?
Leaving this unlovely scene,
Because,
If that's all you can do,
Hang up the doggy poo,
You might as well have left it where it was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.