London at a distance

A rather unpleasant day here today - wet and windy, though they both come and go! I haven't been outside the house except to fill up the bird feeder so no walk today.

I've been spending time recently sorting out the many pictures from my trip south in October, especially the two days I spent in central London.  It's become a rather obsessive job, but one that I'm really enjoying, not only sorting and improving almost every picture, but writing a description of the route I've taken each day, and a list and description of all the major buildings and other scenes that occur in my photographs.

Having finished those two days I've gone back to a day in May 2019 when I met up with fellow Blipper ladypop and we spent the day wandering around the City with our cameras. We'd been exploring the docks on the downstream side of Tower Bridge when I looked up and saw a cruise ship being towed upriver. I think I shouted that I'd be back soon and sprinted along the riverside, through the pedestrian arch beneath Tower Bridge Road and out into Potter's Field Park, just in time to see the bridge bascules rise and the bows of 'Silver Wind' nosing through. It was quite exciting as I'd never seen a ship of that size come through before, or not that I remember. She was pulled through and tied up next to HMS Belfast, the light cruiser which saw action throughout the Second World War. A great day!

Quote of the Day:

“I like the spirit of this great London which I feel around me.” - Charlotte Bronte.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.