Representação

Representation.

I can’t access the full series but I’ve been enjoying the mischievous antics of those who upload clips of Strictly Come Dancing to YouTube. I think it technically breaks broadcasting rules, but it means I get to enjoy the celebration of representation and diversity on our screens.

It’s easy to think of a series like this as mostly lights and glamour, but that would do it a disservice. It’s much more ground-breaking and the producers should be thanked for the active choices they’ve made. The final four contestants in this series were two people of colour, a deaf woman and the show’s first male-male pairing.

The two men John and Johannes spoke about the importance of representation in public life and the fact that when they were growing up there were no examples of gay partnerships with an inspiring, powerful presence. Thank heavens for social progress and awareness because I feel exactly the same. I speak as a gay man and not as any other minority group in the UK context, but I have been so attuned in my life to those moments where there was either no representation, or active attempts to not represent. It is always obvious in moments such as when a famous man’s male life partner is studiously glossed over in documentaries, awards shows, or whatever forum.

These acts can only result from a traditional way of thinking that has seen same sex pairings as unpalatable, and deserving of discretion. The damage this does to someone who sees people like him or herself being deliberately hidden from view runs a hell of a lot deeper than the discomfort someone might feel when they see two men dancing together on Saturday night TV. To me, it was moving to watch.

Therefore I applaud the normalising efforts of a show like Strictly, as they have a more profound role in the shaping of public acceptance than most other attempts I can think of.

This photo looks like a collage but is just the opposite apartment block captured at an extremely sharp angle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.