The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Red bull

This was the better part of the day.

I went for a walk before the rain arrived, a walk through the clouds at sea level, and back home through the pastures below the Knott.  I saw the devastation left by Storm Arwen on the woof trees that Gus used to enjoy so much, though was heartened to see the raven tree has survived.  The ancient lime trees below the rabbit field are also intact.

This was a circular route that Gus loved when he was still able to do it.  I saw quite a few people I knew (including Mr Knottman) who didn't recognise me.  When you are a regular walker of a distinctive dog, people come to recognise you by association with your pet (and sometimes they know his name, but not yours).  But without your dog, it seems you become another anonymous walker again.  

Anyway, back at home, Gus was pleased to see me.  He sat with me while I lit the fire, and we both wished I had a Harry Potter wand that could make him (and me) young again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.