OlyShipp

By OlyShipp

Now this is not the end

I started this year in a difficult place. I’m far from alone in that, and my sorrows are few compared to many, but they are mine and I had to deal with them.

One thing that helped me through was to give myself a little challenge, a reason to leave the house each day, an encouragement to find something new, positive, or noteworthy.

So every single day I have gone out, found something, taken a photo, and published it - come sunshine or rain, joy or heartbreak, inspiration or disenchantment. It was often my kids, a cheat as they’re so damned photogenic, but I adore them so won’t apologise for over-snapping!

I did it for myself; but it has also been a pleasure to share with fellow travellers who were interesting, inspiring, most of all kind. I rarely had the mental energy to return the kindness, but please know it was there.

So I made it to the end, my 365th photo of 2021, and I made it home to start rebuilding after a tumultuous, unforgettable year for us all.

I’m not sure what happens next - this is an end of sorts, but hopefully also a beginning. May we all have a peaceful and happier new year.

“Now this is not the end. It is not even the beginning of the end. But it is, perhaps, the end of the beginning.”
(Winston Churchill).

“2021, go away and think about what you have done, you ridiculous year!”
(Andy Zaltzman).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.