Penobscot Mtn. Summit

Although yesterday was my 365th blip entry, my intention of course was to post a photo for each day of the year, and today I feel pretty good about following through on my goal.

My hike today was chock full of experiences, with photos to match, but I'll show a little discipline and just share a few. The view on top of Penobscot today was just too much for the panorama feature on my phone, especially because of the range of light from the ocean to the mainland. My composite image is a bit sloppy, but I think it conveys the effect, especially in large. It was an absurdly joyful feeling coming over the mountain today. 

Rather than go on about the frozen mountain pond, the porcupine, a chance encounter with an old acquaintance, an impressive oak, or the various sounds of winter, I'm going to use the space to reflect on the completion of this 365 day project.

I began the year intending to add a little discipline to my routine and make a of record some places and experiences that felt significant and important to me. By this metric the project has been a gratifying success.

At some point I realized the journal could become the focal point for collecting a few poems I enjoyed, and the words and images started feeding off each other. Generally, though not always, they expressed a sentiment I was thinking or feeling around that time. Perhaps they eventually became a surrogate of sorts for my own personal expression, which is something I want to work on if I continue for another year.

Editing the photos became more of a creative outlet than I was expecting, and started to change the way I captured the images in the first place. Add in the poetry, and I think it’s fair to say this project got into my head and effected how I see the world around me. 

I was also surprised at how compelling it is to peer into other people’s lives through their journals. Rather than simply being voyeuristic, I think it has broadened my horizons and strengthened my empathy. It is humbling how good some people are about sharing support and kind comments. I’d like to think I don’t communicate more because I’m busy and tired, but perhaps I am simply too self absorbed.

It’s curious how looking back at the entire journal collapses the year, giving the sense I was rushing pell mell through the seasons, when I know the actual lived experience felt more dragged out. I can’t imagine keeping this up for five or ten years, but I think I’d like to try at least one more for sure.

Thanks to everyone who has spent any time looking over these entries. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.